News and Archives of Jacques Delors
News & Archives from
Jacques Delors
Support the Jacques Delors Institute!
Click here
Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Read our newsletter
Jacques Delors

Jacques Delors

Jacques Delors was President of the Economic Monetary Affairs Committee of the European Parliament ...
António Vitorino

António Vitorino

António Vitorino, born in 1957 in Lisbon, holds a degree in law from the University of Lisbon and ...
Joachim Bitterlich

Joachim Bitterlich

Joachim Bitterlich was born in 1948. He studied Law, Economics and Politics at the University of ...
Yves Bertoncini

Yves Bertoncini

Yves Bertoncini has been Director of the Jacques Delors Institute (2012-2017). He assists the ...
Key points
The Community Method, the EU's "default" operating system
The parliaments of the EU and the governance of the EMU
The Community Method, the EU's "default" operating system
The European Council and the Community Method
Co-decision and ‘early agreements’: an improvement or a subversion of the legislative procedure?
See more
Themes :
Select ...
Choose a theme
Types :
Select ...
Choose type
Dates :
Select ...
European Institutions

Brussels, 7 February 2012 - The Maastricht Treaty: 20 years later

Notre Europeand theEuropean Policy Centre organise a policy dialogue with a keynote speech byJacques Delors followed by a panel discussion with Philippe Maystadt, President of the European Policy Centre,Joachim Bitterlich, former Adviser to Helmut Kohl and to Hans-Dietrich Genscher, andAntónio Vitorino, President of Notre Europe.

Tuesday, 7 February 2012

2:15pm – 5:00pm

Hôtel Renaissance

19, Rue du Parnasse - 1050 Brussels


2:15pm: Introduction

Hans Martens, Chief Executive, European Policy Centre

Yves Bertoncini, Secretary General, Notre Europe

2:45pm Keynote speech: “The Treaty of Maastricht: genesis and issues”

Jacques Delors, Former President of the European Commission, founding President of Notre Europe

Question & answer session, moderated by Yves Bertoncini

3:30pm Panel debate: “The three pillars: legacy and challenges”

Philippe Maystadt, former President of the EIB, President of the European Policy Centre

Joachim Bitterlich, former Adviser to Helmut Kohl and to Hans-Dietrich Genscher

António Vitorino, former European Commissioner, President of Notre Europe

Discussion and question & answer session, moderated by Hans Martens

4:50pm Concluding remarks by Jacques Delors

Contact - Sitemap - Legal - Vacancies
Jacques Delors Institute - 19, rue de Milan - 75009 Paris - Tel. +33 1 44 58 97 97 - Email:
Jacques Delors Institut – Berlin, Pariser Platz 6, 10117 Berlin
Powered by Walabiz
We use cookies on our website.
If you continue to use our website you consent to the use of cookies.